I spent the evening working on a new mini-game for Solipsius, and the result is a neat little game I like to call Space Offenders. The game itself is like reverse-Arkanoid meets Space Invaders (hence the title). I’m pretty happy with it since it only took one evening to put together and it’s functional and somewhat fun. There are a few buggy quirks, but nothing that I’m going to lose any sleep over if they aren’t fixed (after all, it is just a small part of a larger game). I did consider adding some power-ups in, but decided that they would probably take away from the challenge and old-school simplicity, so I’m leaving them out for now.

You can try out this mini-game here.

Press Enter to start, arrow keys to move, and F4 to toggle in and out of Fullscreen mode. If you play, please post your highscore as a comment! So far, no one has been able to make it past level 8, but I’m sure it’s possible with enough luck and skill!

About phubans

Independent game developer living in San Francisco.

5 responses »

  1. Jacob says:

    I enjoyed it! It got a bit hard after level 6 or 7, but after a game over I had to try once more!

  2. Gilbert says:

    The link does not work for the mini-game.

  3. mosh says:

    Small part of a larger game eh? Which one? :)

    • phubans says:

      It will be featured in Solipsius, although I haven’t worked on that game for over a month now because my focus has been shifted back to Sword of Legends and Spuck.

Leave a Reply

