It’s been a while since my last update, and rightfully so since I recently moved and didn’t have Internet until now, so instead of making multiple posts I’m just going to try to cover everything in this one.

First off, the Blasteroid Redux project was canned because neither Luke nor I could find the time or motivation to put into it. It also seemed like a digression, since we had already laid out a solid working game with Spuck and our real goal was to finish that project. At this point, I’ve done pretty much all I can for now on my end of things and I’m just waiting for Luke to create the level editor so I can start building levels.

In my downtime, I’ve decided to start working on my own personal project on the side: Solipsius. It’s a project that I’ve had the idea for for a while now and I finally worked out a solid format for presenting it, so my productivity has been explosive so far. I want to remain vague on the details for now, because the game is really going to be about the experience, and I think that if it is executed properly it will be unlike anything the game scene has seen so far.

I will say that it’s going to be a dark, surreal point & click adventure game featuring various minigames, many of which are based off of smaller projects of mine that never really got off the ground. I’ve taken a new approach with the art style that is a departure from my usual 2D work; the game will feature atmospheric and highly-interactive pre-rendered backgrounds that the player navigates through. The title is a portmanteau of solipsism and Polybius; the former a philosophical concept that only one’s own consciousness can be known to exist, and the latter a forbidden arcade game of urban lore.

More details as development continues. In the meantime, here’s a screenshot of the first room.

About phubans

Independent game developer living in San Francisco.

One response »

  1. Deadheat says:

    Looking nice pubies. Good to see you haven’t given up! :)

Leave a Reply

